As prempted - it was the turn of Lalu Prasad, a convict in fodder scam. According to reports, RJD chief Lalu Prasad and JD(U) leader Jagdish Sharma have been disqualified as Lok Sabha members following their conviction.


The first disqualification from Parliament came on Sunday as Congress leader Rashid Masood. He was held guilty in a case of corruption and other offences in September.


"While Prasad stands disqualified for a total of 11 years — five years of jail term and six years subsequent to his release, Sharma stands disqualified for ten years — four years in jail and six more years after that as per electoral laws," says a report appeared in The Hindu.
The three MPs have been disqualified following a Supreme Court judgement on July 10 last. The apex court had struck down sub-section 4 of Section 8 of Representation of the People Act, under which incumbent MPs, MLAs and MLCs got immunity from disqualification till pendency of the appeal against conviction in a higher court.


Lalu Prasad, 65, was sentenced to five years in prison and imposed with a fine of Rs. 25 lakh, in the fodder scam. Till date he was till now an MP from Saran in Bihar.
And, Jagdish Sharma, 63, was sentenced to four years imprisonment in the same case. Till now, he represented Jahanabad in Bihar.

Post a Comment

Your COMMENTS are valuable. Share your THOUGHTS:

Copyright © 2011 - 2014 PoliticSCOPE | All rights reserved | Theme by Kang Ismet &. Powered by Blogger.