Bihar CM Nitish Kumar’s firm decline to not to reconsider his resignation has almost put an end to a high voltage drama continued in Bihar regarding his decision.
Jitan Ram Manjhi
Nitish is now authorised to choose the JD(U) legislative party leader, which might be announced on Tuesday. Ultimately Nitish Kumar chose his close aide Jitan Ram Manjhi as the state’s next chief minister.
Majhi belongs to one of the most underprivileged castes in the state. Though, Kumar stepped down on the moral ground due to the devastating defeat of JD (U) in the 2014 general election. However, there was a pretty good pandemonium on it pressurizing Nitish to continue as the leader.
The legislatures exuded their full confidence upon him. After a pretty hue and cry Kumar asked them for a day’s time to think over it. Ultimately, on Monday he refused to reconsider and was authorized to choose JD (U} LP leader.
It is learnt that the name might be announced tomorrow. However, the political drama is not over yet. On the contrary overwhelmed for landslide victory BJP’s state unit seems ardent rather restless to rule the state. They even approached the Governor D.Y. Patil in this context. They urged him to parade all the MLAs in person to know their views. In another twist the JD (U) general secretary on Sunday blamed Sharad Yadav for the debacle not Nitish and asked him to resign from the post.
Significantly, JD (U) president Sharad Yadav declined to seek any support from Lalu Prasad’s Rashtriya Janata Dal. In fact, Yadav hinted about seeking support from RJD to keep the secular forces intact. Meanwhile Yadav has indicated that there is no question of alliance with RJD. Though Yadav had hinted at times in this regard but denied later. However, Narendra Narayan Yadav, Bijendra Yadav, Bashistha Narayan Singh and Bijay Kumar Choudhary were stated to be in race.
# Ujjwal Ghosh [The author is Sr. Journalist, currently working on his short story book. The views expressed are personal].

Post a Comment

Your COMMENTS are valuable. Share your THOUGHTS:

Copyright © 2011 - 2014 PoliticSCOPE | All rights reserved | Theme by Kang Ismet &. Powered by Blogger.